Arminius Numismatics

money sorted by region or empire

Startseite Kontakt Sidebar Registrieren Anmelden
Albenliste Neueste Uploads Neueste Kommentare Am meisten angesehen Am besten bewertet Meine Favoriten Suche
Galerie > Ancient World > Ancient India (til ca.1550 AD.) > India, Bahmani Sultanate
Klicken für Bild in voller Größe

India, Bahmani Sultanate, 1474 AD., Shams Al-Din Muhammad Shah III, no mint, Æ Gani, G&G BH114.

India, Bahmani Sultanate, Shams Al-Din Muhammad Shah III (AH 867-887 / 1463-1482 AD.), no mint, dated AH 878 = 1474 AD., (other dates: 868-80, 882-5),
Æ Gani (21 mm diameter/ 15,00 g / 5 mm high), copper, typical weights ca. 16,2-16,5 g., axes coin alignment ↑↓ (180°), plain hammered edge,
Obv.: "Al Mustasim billah Shams-ud-dunya Waddin".
Rev.: "Muhammad Shah bin Humayun Shah As Sultan" / [8]7[8].
G&G BH114 ; Rajgor 2650-1 . Rarity: common
(thanks to Overlord for the ID)

The Bahmani Sultanate (Devanagari: बहमनी सल्तनत ; also called the Bahmanid Empire or Bahmani Kingdom) was a Muslim state of the Deccan in southern India and one of the great medieval Indian kingdoms. Bahmanid Sultanate was the first independent Islamic Kingdom in South India, their capital was Bidar (Muhammadabad).
The sultanate was founded on 3 August 1347 by governor Ala-ud-Din Hassan Bahman Shah, a Persian (Tajik) descent from Badakhshan, who revolted against the Sultan of Delhi, Muhammad bin Tughluq. Nazir uddin Ismail Shah who had revolted against the Delhi Sultanate stepped down on that day in favour of Zafar Khan who ascended the throne with the title of Alauddin Bahman Shah. His revolt was successful, and he established an independent state on the Deccan within the Delhi Sultanate's southern provinces. The Bahmani capital was Ahsanabad (Gulbarga) between 1347 and 1425 when it was moved to Muhammadabad (Bidar).
The Bahmani contested the control of the Deccan with the Hindu Vijayanagara Empire to the south. The sultanate reached the peak of its power during the vizierate (1466–1481) of Mahmud Gawan. After 1518 the sultanate broke up into five states: Ahmednagar, Berar, Bidar, Bijapur, Golconda (Qutb Shahi dynasty) known collectively as the Deccan sultanates.
The Bahmani dynasty believed that they descended from Bahman, the legendary king of Iran. They were patrons of the Persian language, culture and literature, and some members of the dynasty became well-versed in that language and composed in its literature.

List of Bahmani Sultans
Aladdin Hassan Bahman Shah 1347–1358
Mohammed Shah I 1358–1375
Aladdin Mujahid Shah 1375–1378
Da'ud Shah 1378
Mohammed Shah II 1378–1397
Ghiyath ud-Din 1397
Shams ud-Din 1397
Taj ud-Din Firuz Shah 1397–1422
Ahmad Shah I Wali 1422–1436
Aladdin Ahmad Shah II 1436–1458
Aladdin Humayun Zalim Shah 1458–1461
Nizam Shah 1461–1463
Mohammed Shah III Lashkari 1463–1482
Mohammed Shah IV (Mahmud Vira Shah) 1482–1518
Ahmad Vira Shah III 1518–1521
Aladdin Shah 1521–1522
Wali-Allah Shah 1522–1525
Kalim-Allah Shah 1525–1527
Firoz Shah Bahmani

Diese Datei bewerten (noch keine Bewertung)
Name des Albums:Arminius / India, Bahmani Sultanate
Schlüsselwörter:India / Bahmani / Sultanate / Shams_Al-Din_Muhammad_Shah_III / Gani
Dateigröße:130 KB
Hinzugefügt am:11. Mai 2012
Abmessungen:1024 x 512 Pixel
Angezeigt:107 mal
Favoriten:zu Favoriten hinzufügen