Arminius Numismatics

money sorted by region or empire

Startseite Kontakt Sidebar Registrieren Anmelden
Albenliste Neueste Uploads Neueste Kommentare Am meisten angesehen Am besten bewertet Meine Favoriten Suche
Galerie > Medieval to Contemporary > Europe > Germany in general > German states and issue locations > Germany, Erfurt
Klicken für Bild in voller Größe

1920 AD., Germany, Weimar Republic, Erfurt (city), Notgeld, currency issue, 25 Pfennig, Grabowski E22.3d. 361213 Reverse

State: Germany, Weimar Republic
Issuer: Erfurt (city) (PrS / Th) Stadt
Location of issue: Erfurt (city)
Date of issue: 9.4.1920 AD.,
Value: 25 Pfennig
Size: 75 x 50 mm
Material: paper
Watermark: -
Serial : -
Serial no. : 361213 ( 6 digits red )
Signatures: (2)
Printer: ?
Obv.: / / / …. , Cathedral Hill with Erfurt Cathedral and St Severus' Church.
Rev.: / / / …. , text above city crest.
References: Grabowski E22.3d ; Tieste 1755.105.12.1 .

Erfurt is the capital and largest city in the state of Thuringia, central Germany. It is located in the southern part of the Thuringian Basin, within the wide valley of the Gera river. It is located 100 km (62 mi) south-west of Leipzig, 300 km (186 mi) south-west of Berlin, 400 km (249 mi) north of Munich and 250 km (155 mi) north-east of Frankfurt. Together with a string of neighbouring cities Gotha, Weimar, Jena and others, Erfurt forms the central metropolitan corridor of Thuringia called Thüringer Städtekette (German "Thuringian city chain") with over 500,000 inhabitants.
Erfurt's old town is one of the best preserved medieval city centres in Germany.
Erfurt was first mentioned in 742, as Saint Boniface founded the diocese. Although the town did not belong to any of the Thuringian states politically, it quickly became the economic centre of the region and it was a member of the Hanseatic League. It was part of the Electorate of Mainz during the Holy Roman Empire, and later became part of the Kingdom of Prussia in 1802. From 1949 until 1990 Erfurt was part of the German Democratic Republic (East Germany).
The University of Erfurt was founded in 1379, making it the first university to be established within the geographic area which constitutes modern-day Germany. It closed in 1816 and was re-established in 1994, with the main modern campus on what was a teachers' training college. Martin Luther (1483–1546) was its most famous student, studying there from 1501 before entering St Augustine's Monastery in 1505. Other noted Erfurters include the medieval philosopher and mystic Meister Eckhart (c. 1260–1328), the Baroque composer Johann Pachelbel (1653–1706) and the sociologist Max Weber (1864–1920).
More on

Diese Datei bewerten (noch keine Bewertung)
Name des Albums:Arminius / Germany, Erfurt
Schlüsselwörter:Germany / Weimar / Republic / Erfurt / city / Notgeld / currency / Pfennig / paper / Cathedral / Hill / Saint / Severus / Church / crest
Dateigröße:716 KB
Hinzugefügt am:17. Dezember 2020
Abmessungen:1920 x 1303 Pixel
Angezeigt:1 mal
Favoriten:zu Favoriten hinzufügen